The Abel Prize Lectures

The Abel Lectures 2016
Wednesday May 25, 2016
Georg Sverdrups Hus, University of Oslo


Welcome by Rector of the University of Oslo, Ole Petter Ottersen President of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Ole M. Sejersted and Chair of the Abel Committee Professor John Rognes

Abel Laureate Sir Andrew Wiles, University of Oxford
Fermat's Last theorem: abelian and non-abelian approaches

Professor Henri Darmon, McGill University
Andrew Wiles' marvelous proof

Professor Manjul Bhargava, Princeton University
What is the Birch-Swinnerton-Dyer Conjecture, and what is known about it?


Popular Lecture: Simon Singh
From Fermat's Last Theorem to Homer's Last theorem

Closing remarks by Chair of the Abel Committee, Professor John Rognes

Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS