The Abel Prize Laureates 2020

The Abel Prize Laureates 2020

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2020 to

Hillel Furstenberg

Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, and

Gregory Margulis

Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA

“for pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics.”

Citation by the Abel Committee
For the press and the media

Press contacts and photos of the Abel Prize laureates:

Popular Version by Arne B. Sletsjøe

Here you can find some information about the mathematics of this years Abel Prize Laureates. The first text, entitled "Random Walk in the mathematical landscape" is meant for a general audience. In the second part, we have picked out a few examples of results achieved by the two laureates. The selected topics and the more mathematical treatment is ment to give a glimse into the fields and the ideas of the laureates.

Interview with Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis
Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo
Telefon: +47 22 84 15 00
Nettredaktør: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design og teknisk løsning: Ravn Webveveriet AS
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Drammensveien 78
N-0271 Oslo, Norway
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 00
Web editor: Eirik Furu Baardsen
Design and technical solutions: Ravn Webveveriet AS